God & the City… Redress Raleigh

She sets about her work vigorously; her arms are strong for her tasks. Proverbs 31:17

 photo IMG_3029_zps5118dcef.jpg

So I’m sure if you like my page Natural True Beauty by Linda Mendible you have seen Clothes! Yes Clothing done by moi! I gave it a shot! It was in my heart and I’m so thankful to GOD to Jesus Christ For the opportunity to face challenges and actually do things that excite me!

My Eco-Friendly Fashion Adventure & Interview with Redress Raleigh!

God is so Gracious, He is so good! I actually had in stock Eco Friendly Materials and Also had help from a Model! Meet Marissa, She works with a fantastic Group Called Models for Charity. I was also amazed that she was also A believer which I didn’t know until we talked more! GOD is SOOOO GOOD!

IMG_89502_zpsaec9691a photo IMG_89502_zpsaec9691a-1_zps3c73a735.jpg

I Called the Collection: ‘Modern Toile’ The Stripe fabric is Made From Linen and this Toil is also a Linen!

You see God Blessed me with a person who happen to have heaps of Toil and gave it to me before I applied for Redress Raleigh ECO Friendly Fashion show! Toile is mostly used in upholstery. GOD GUIDES ARE STEPS!

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, Colossians 3:23

It was my First time Making Garments! For me I felt Like she Looked beautiful!

IMG_8952_zps3027eab2 photo IMG_8952_zps3027eab2-1_zpsaf66d9e4.jpg

The earrings & necklace also made by me. Made with 100% wool by Needle felting, wood & Leather.

And I had a week (5days) to knock it out! 1 night (3hours) with out my equipment 😦  with my model to have her fitted into the garment which I would have loved more time!

IMG_89511_zpsa961f22a photo IMG_89511_zpsa961f22a-1_zpsf72cb378.jpg

The Knitted work you see in the back is made from 100% wool. I loved this detail! It’s supposed to be folded like a collar 🙂

The event which I had tried out for was Redress Raleigh March 2013 Eco-Friendly Fashion Show & Conference! Have you heard of them!!? They are actually ALL about Eco-Friendly and minimizing your carbon footprint! I couldn’t believe they actually called me in for an interview and I was so STOKED! (Very Excited!)

IMG_8954_zpse0654b43 photo IMG_8954_zpse0654b43-1_zpsdb6c7326.jpg

This was a two in one Design, The pencil skirt was taken off to reveal the second look. 🙂 The Tunic.

Although I forgot to fix her collar it’s suppose to look like this;

 photo IMG_3088_zps0be94368.jpg

Not with eyeservice, as menpleasers; but as the servants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart;With good will doing service, as to the Lord, and not to men: Ephesians 6:6-7

Although I wasn’t picked as one of their featured Designers, did I cry? No, yes, but that’s not the point. I truly Put my Heart into it and I tried to stay true to my designs aesthetics!

One of my favorite things to do, is to mix patterns, materials & textures! I know This is a Gift from Almighty GOD! From JESUS! This opportunity just made me hungry for God, & hungry to hone my skills! I can’t do it without JESUS.

Redress Raleigh’s goal is to reorient mainstream fashion to become environmentally and socially aware, becoming a catalyst for major change in the fashion and textiles industry.

I just want to thank everyone for encouraging me and also believing in me, Thank You! I know it can only be described as the Love of GOD in your hearts. I still have much work to do but I’m thankful that GOD doesn’t Call the Qualified He Qualifies the Called!
 photo IMG_3099_zpse4489ffa.jpg
  I also tried to give a clean design not only from the outside, but from the inside as well. ♥

But God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound the wise; and God hath chosen the weak things of the world to confound the things which are mighty; 1 Corinthians 1:27

God has given me, weak me, unworthy me, gifts & talents that I myself am so amazed over! Each time I create I know it’s GOD, I know it’s JESUS! I never went to school for Art or Fashion Design, except for regular art classes in High School, I only took one class on How to make a shirt and I was already Making bags way before that 1 single Class. And I’m truly nothing, no one. When you Look at me, anything GOOD that you see, that I do, it is truly the Grace of GOD! Truly its all from GOD from Jesus Christ!
 photo IMG_8953_zpsb2995f65.jpg
When I was interviewed they had asked me how long I have been sewing, it hit me, I started sewing in 2010. I can’t believe it’s only been 3 years of sewing! GOD YOU ARE MIGHTY!!!! I’m excited to See what GOD is doing inside of me & around me! THIS IS MY YEAR! I DECLARE IT IN JESUS NAME!
 photo IMG_3093_zps95306168.jpg
Although there is a Journey ahead of me I want to let you know that it takes GUTS! Seriously, although there are nights that my hands hurt, Tired to the point I can’t explain and on the verge of feeling like giving Up, GOD truly knows How to lift us up!

Even if it’s just a simple WORD. I’m thankful to the Angels GOD has placed around me, the people that come in and out my life to give me a word of encouragement, I’m even thankful to the mean people because if I didn’t receive any ridicule than I must be doing something wrong! So the fact that I receive criticism means I must be doing something right!

So thank GOD for The GOOD and the Bad! For the Hurt, Shame & the Pain. Because I know I’m governing from a position of AUTHORITY! Because I know who I am in Christ! I know I’m Glorifying the one true KING, JESUS CHRIST! HALLELUJAH!

I’m reminded of When Jesus, before he went through one of the biggest battles of His life, He was given confirmation from His Father, From GOD on WHO HE WAS.

And a voice came from heaven, “You are my beloved Son; with you I am well pleased.”

And if you’re Reading This, I don’t care who you are, what you have done, GOD is saying to YOU, yes YOU….

I LOVE YOU.

YOU ARE MY CHILD.

And let me tell you, I’m A CHILD OF THE MOST HIGH GOD! I know who I am In Christ! I will continue to work with all my Heart, with all diligence in the Name of JESUS to GLORIFY HIM! GOD Deserves all the GLORY, All the PRAISE! ALL the GLORY IS HIS!

Know TODAY! If you have Given your Life to CHRIST! Know,

For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength. Philippians 4:13

 Because you are HIS!

But now you have been united with Christ Jesus. Once you were far away from God, but now you have been brought near to him through the blood of Christ. Ephesians 2:13

What ever GOD has placed in your heart, HE has given you everything YOU need to Accomplish what you were BORN to accomplish!

For God made Christ, who never sinned, to be the offering for our sin, so that we could be made right with God through Christ. 2 Corinthians 5:21

It’s about YOU & GOD! No one Else. So forget about Who will think what, & who will say what. Do what you know is right in your Heart.
 photo IMG_3101_zps439cfe53.jpg

I also brought this unfinished piece to give more insight to the collection. Made from Remnants and material that I was going to use as a bag lining (the gold).

Thank you ♥

Hosanna in the Highest!!!

For His Love & Glory,

2011-11-08074203-4-2_zps143a5235

2 thoughts on “God & the City… Redress Raleigh

  1. Pingback: Taking the leap towards… Eco Friendly? | Living Beautifully

Leave a Reply

