God & the City…Practicing for the Runway – Dress Rehearsal?

Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain. 1 Corinthians 15:58

 photo DSCF1577_zps031cdb89.jpg

The Long awaited Runway show is almost here! Hallelujah! God is amazing! Thank you Jesus! I really can’t thank Jesus enough and thank you all for your support! Just by reading this article is support enough! ♥

I’ve definitely worked my tail off to bring some, one-of-a-kind designs, that I hope to seamlessly bring to the catwalk!!! The word catwalk always reminds me of Zoolander (you know the movie) when he sashay’s down the runway in a duel with “Hansel” he’s so hot right now. haha! (for those of you who don’t know, it’s an inside joke 🙂 )

 photo DSCF1579_zps14f798f1.jpg

These moments are so amazing, so gratifying that I can’t help but be filled with joy. Sure there are ups and downs and truthfully I have my days including my ugly days. But, Oh LORD how Amazing you are! I’ve been given so much. GOD just showers you with His Grace, Love and just who He is. I’m just taking it all in. I feel as though when you accept Jesus into your heart your eyes are opened. Now I see why Jesus uses the phrase “born again” because you are truly in a different world and that world is the knowledge that GOD is with you and that every good gift is from Him. (James 1:17)

 photo DSCF1576_zpscfd1f753.jpg

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters Colossians 3:23

Yesterday I had set up a little Runway Practice for the models that will be modeling my designs down the catwalk. Redress Raleigh had informed it’s designers, me being one of them, that they were not having a Dress Rehearsal. They did, however, send us information of the venue along with times that the Durham Armory a.k.a. Central Civic Center in Durham, would be open the public. And I decided to take up this opportunity and have the models meet at the venue for practice and to address any questions that they may have.

 photo DSCF1567_zps1eb7e0a6.jpg

Little did I know that there would be another event hosting their Pancake and Sausage for $8 bucks. Which I did not at all consider this. So lesson learned there! Note to self: Always, Always, Always Call AHEAD!!! Done and Done!

 photo DSCF1549_zps7cc5cf34.jpg

 photo DSCF1550_zpscebf19d5.jpg

 photo DSCF1551_zps69b1ce2e.jpg

 photo DSCF1552_zpsd2d129fc.jpg

 photo DSCF1560_zps0b8f52eb.jpg

I met some very wonderful gentlemen and we also had one of the guys take a picture with all of the ladies including myself. So don’t be surprised if you see us on their webpage/fb/twitter etc. 😀

 photo DSCF1557_zpse074820e.jpgAll though the Kiwanis Club was doing their thing and flippin some pancakes. We at least had a wonderful time and a great opportunity to see the venue and got a feel of where it was actually located. Thank God! photo DSCF1555_zpsa13fbf3b.jpg

 photo DSCF1573_zps626a1aec.jpg

Although I had wanted all of the models to attend, it was a blessing that at least 4 out of 9 of them had made it. Hallelujah Lord I praise you!!!

God sees each and everyone of our hearts and Psalm 37:4, infact all of the Bible is true. When you take delight in the Lord and allow HIM to be your Joy acknowledging Him in all your ways He truly directs your steps in the most elegant and beautiful way that I just can’t explain.

 photo DSCF1583_zpsaa8dc6f7.jpg

You know, I’m also reminded of the temple Solomon built for GOD. How his father David left him specific instructions from God in how to finish the temple. He didn’t just bring in one craftsmen but he brought in the best of the best. Each skilled to do the task they were assigned to do.

 photo DSCF1584_zpsf47df27f.jpg

Each of us as individuals have a purpose. A task to fulfill, a skill to hone. We are the body of Christ, we are the Church and we each have a responsibility to bare. That’s why it’s important for us to constantly meditate on God’s word because if we’re not functioning to our full capacity what good is there in that?

 photo DSCF1585_zps8a7b2aa5.jpg

I feel as though when we work, or when we do anything, we should consider in doing all things for GOD. Why? Because He is WORTHY. If that’s not good reason enough, than I will follow by saying, anything done with all your heart for God, truly doesn’t go in vain.

 photo DSCF1586_zpsf9cbe1a5.jpg

The truth is you never know who’s life you may touch. Who you may save or inspire. It’s challenging one another to do the best we can, to achieve the dreams that have been laid in our hearts.

 photo DSCF1587_zps83c9e625.jpg

Solomon’s temple was to hold the tabernacle. The tabernacle has so many meanings and I would suggest looking up Joseph Prince version. I feel as though Solomon’s temple can also represent ourselves. The tabernacle can be a reflection of our hearts the rest of the temple can be represented as our faith.

 photo DSCF1590_zpsf469d68e.jpg

Solomon created the temple for GOD, a work of faith, a place where GOD can dwell. In the bible you can find that our bodies are a Temple.

Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies. 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

Our work, is also a reflection and extension of our bodies.

As I was enjoying the moment and the presence of these ladies I can’t help to think that, because God has brought this opportunity to me, in showcasing my talent, art and designs GOD through me has also allowed these ladies with dreams and aspirations to take a step forward towards them, to give them a platform to express themselves as well.

We think sometimes that it’s only for ourselves, our family or for those who are closets to us. But the truth is, when we do it for GOD, God touches the lives of  the people around us, in unbelievable ways and if you can be a part of that… Well that’s why they will call you #blessed! (Yes I had to add the hash tag, I’m just sayin! 😛)

All in All I had a great time, but the only downside of my day was leaving my almost 2month old at home with Grandama :(. Luckily I have a breastpump (since I am breastfeeding my lil guy) And I was gone for only 3 hours. I have been blessed enough that I can stay and work from home, and my heart feels for the mothers who need to go to work and leave their little one at home or at a nursery/day care. Even with the sweet allure of the pancakes, I just couldn’t wait to go home.

But The best part of my day was coming home to…
 photo IMG_7283_zpsa58bc7c6.jpg

HALLELUJAH PRAISE GOD! THANK YOU JESUS. YOU ARE WONDERFUL!

 photo IMG_7284_zpsc9845a70.jpg
My family, because…

Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows. James 1:17

Until Next time! Ciao!

Video of the day: OH PRAISE HIM!

Hosanna in the Highest!!!

For His Love & Glory,
2011-11-08074203-4-2_zps143a5235

2 thoughts on “God & the City…Practicing for the Runway – Dress Rehearsal?

    • Thank you so much! It’s truly unnerving at times because a lot of responsibility falls on me for an amazing Fashion show but with God all things are possible!! I’m so excited! It’s a little more than a week away! Love you!

      ❤ Linda Mendible

Leave a Reply

